NHH students and employees have free access to our e-resources both on campus and from home. Some databases require special access rights - this is described in more detail in the tab under each database..
Featured Databases
Loading...
The most frequently-used databases
BLOOMBERG TERMINAL
Featured
Bloomberg Terminal is a computer system from the financial data provider Bloomberg LP which provides access to the Bloomberg Professional service. This allows users to monitor and analyze financial market data in real time.
The system also provides news, quotes and messaging across its proprietary secure network.
12 terminals are placed in the library and no booking is needed.
Compustat Fundamentals provides standardized North American and global financial statement and market data for over 80,000 active and inactive publicly traded companies that financial professionals have relied on for over 50 years.
North America
Global
Bank
Historical Segments
Execucomp
OTHER COMPUSTAT PRODUCTS
North America - Annual Updates
Marginal Tax Rates
Capital IQ delivers comprehensive fundamental and quantitative research and analysis solutions to over 4,200 investment management firms, investment banks, private equity funds, advisory firms, corporations, and universities worldwide
Capital Structure
Identifiers
S&P Credit Ratings
TOOLS
Compustat Tools include formatted financial statements and ratios
CUSIP Converter
Complete Financial Statements (XLS)
Data and Ratios (XLS)
Financial Statements (HTML)
Access Compustat - Capital IQ (upenn.edu)
INFORMATION VIDEOS
Video on Introduction to Capitol IQ
Capital IQ Transcripts on Vimeo
CapitalIQ - How to Use on Vimeo
Compustat Global in WRDS: The Basics on Vimeo
Compustat Execucomp: The Basics on Vimeo
Compustat Knowledge base (upenn.edu)
OTHER TOOLS
Compustat Manuals and overview (upenn.edu)
The Center for Research in Security Prices, LLC (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets.
Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta-based and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, mutual funds, and real estate data.
US Stock Database provides a unique research source characterized by its unmatched breadth, depth, and completeness. It includes CRSP’s unique permanent identifiers allowing for clean and accurate backtesting, time-series and event studies, measurement of performance, accurate benchmarking, and securities analysis.
The CRSP US Stock Database contains end-of-day and month-end prices on all listed NYSE, Amex, and NASDAQ common stocks along with basic market indices, and includes the most comprehensive distribution information available, with the most accurate total return calculations.
Unique Historical Indices Databases serve as benchmarks for the investment community, and as a foundation for academic research. Created according to clear, unbiased and systematic processes, these indexes undergo rigorous procedures to promote data accuracy, timeliness and consistency. Each CRSP index is offered as a series that contains decile subsets for market analysis.
CRSP Indices database contains five groups of CRSP indices: the CRSP Stock File Indices, the CRSP Cap-Based Portfolios, the CRSP Indices for the S&P 500 Universe, the CRSP Treasury and Inflation (CTI) Indices, and the CRSP Select Treasury Indices.
CRSP US Index History, generated by the investable CRSP Indexes, provides additional market data for scholarly research. The introductory time series provides the base for future product expansion, including additional index data as well as index holdings, Intraday, and end-of-day security data.
CRSP US Treasury and Inflation Series contain returns and index levels on the US Government Bond Fixed Term Index Series, and the Risk Free Rates File. The US Treasury database begins in 1925 for month-end data and in 1961 for daily data. Over 1.6 million end-of-day price observations for 3,350 US Treasury bills, notes, and bonds and over 101,500 prices for 5,300 month-end issues are included in the databases.
Mutual Funds: As the provider of the only complete database of both active and inactive mutual funds, CRSP leads the way in mutual fund research. The CRSP Survivor-Bias-Free US Mutual Fund Database serves as a foundation for research in and benchmarking for this asset class. Central to this work is the use of survivor-bias-free data to insure the accuracy of performance benchmarks, and the validity of analyses. Created according to clear, unbiased and systematic processes, this database undergoes rigorous procedures employed to promote data accuracy, timeliness and consistency.
The CRSP Survivor-Bias-Free US Mutual Fund Database was initially developed by Mark M. Carhart of Goldman Sachs Asset Management for his 1995 dissertation (Chicago GSB) entitled, “Survivor Bias and Persistence in Mutual Fund Performance”, to fill a need for lacking survivor-bias-free data coverage.
CRSP/COMPUSTAT Merged Database allows for concurrent database access to CRSP’s stock data and Compustat’s fundamental data. The CRSP Link accurately maps complex, many-to-many relationships over time between CRSP’s unique permanent identifiers (PERMNO and PERMCO), and Compustat’s unique permanent identifier (GVKEY). This link permits the seamless time series examination of CRSP and of Compustat companies and securities side by side, regardless of CUSIP or ticker changes. CRSPLink is a product and is trademarked by CRSP.
NHH subscribes to Annual Updates
Databases in this section are updated once each year, in early February. Update schedules should not be confused with end-of-day, end-of-month, or end-of-quarter data such as stock prices.
Stock / Security Files
Stock / Events
Index / Portfolio Assignments
Index / Stock File Indexes
Index / Cap-Based Portfolios
Index / S&P 500 Indexes
Index / Treasury and Inflation
Index / CRSP Select Series
CRSP/Compustat Merged
Treasuries
Tools
10 Year U.S. Stock
ACCESS
WRDS sign in page at Wharton
MORE INFORMATION
Overview of CRSP U.S. Stock Database (upenn.edu)
Instruction videos:
Video on CRSP Basics
Introduction to Compustat | Part 1 on Vimeo
Introduction to Compustat | Part 2 on Vimeo
CRSP - Useful Variables on Vimeo
Merging CRSP and Compustat Data on Vimeo
CRSP Stock Database Structure on Vimeo
Slides on CRSP Coverage
The database is updated daily, and historical equity information goes back as far as 1973, though coverage varies across countries and types of content.
The database offers:
Daily stock prices, trading volumes, and return indices, updated at the end of every trading day, for over 100,000 equities in nearly 200 countries.
Data on bonds, options and other derivatives, mutual funds (unit trusts), market indices, exchange rates, macroeconomic variables, and corporate financial data.
Principal interface via an Excel add-in enabling direct downloads to Excel.
Datastream is available through an active Eikon-license.
The China Stock Market & Accounting Research (CSMAR) Database offers data on the China stock markets and the financial statements of China’s listed companies.
FactSet provides business data to power your workflow, valuable market analytics to help you outperform, and global market insights to give you perspective.
For accessing FactSet please follow the link (you have to login via the NHH network). The setup of FACTSET is still in a early stage and we might make changes to the machine without notice, and the next time you log on, small changes might have been implemented.
To get started, log into Vmware via desktop.nhh.no. Find the machine called "FACTSET" and click on it to log in.
Find Microsoft SQL Server Manager Studio 20 on the Start Menu . Double-click and adjust settings to reflect the settings below. Please use "banovac" as a server name to connect to the SQL server in the mask that appears.
If this machine is not used for 60 minutes after logging in, it will automatically log you off and the machine gets deleted and recreated. Because of this, alway save your data on M:, all data on the local C: drive will be deleted when the machine gets recreated.
GlobalData Explorer is a cross-sector platform providing actionable intelligence spanning 22 industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers you broad yet detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies and driving innovation.
Jurika offers access to:
- over 90 legal commentaries are regularly updated
- over 300 of the law's most important specialist books, periodicals and articles written by Norway's leading legal writers
- fresh insight from changes in legal sources and trends in law
Note that there are access restrictions for students.
SDC Platinum
New
SDC Platinum, now accessible as an add-on within Workspace, offers the deal making community 25+ years of the most comprehensive and unrivaled data in the industry with deals information on everything from M&A to private equity to project finance.
